About the museum 

The South Tyrolean Folklore Museum in Dietenheim forms part of the South Tyrolean regional museums.

The Museum of Hunting and Fishing in Wolfsthurn Castle in Mareit and the Wine Museum in Kaltern also belong to the South Tyrolean Folklore Museum.


History & concept

The Folklore Museum was created in 1976 and opened in 1980 and is thus the oldest regional museum in South Tyrol. Between 1977 and 1993 some two dozen old buildings were transferred to a site of over three hectares and in 1985 the baroque Mair am Hof residence with its associated farm building was integrated into the existing museum. In contrast to the moved and partially reconstructed buildings on the open-air site, the Mair am Hof residence is an open-air object in situ.

The South Tyrolean Folklore Museum is not an open-air or farm museum in the strict sense. The museum’s founder and director for many years, Dr. Hans Grießmair, pursued a social and historical course from the outset, showing the different lives, living conditions and economic situations of the landed gentry, farmers, smallholders and rural craftsman.

Continue reading if you want to know more facts the different areas of the museum, the permanent exhibition, the special exhibition, the research and collection activities or the publications of the museum.

img_8111_pa_1.jpg foto_hmg_0360_p_1.jpg

Preview of the program 

As a precautionary measure to help contain the further spread of coronavirus, all events in the current year have been cancelled

Until further notice the mediation offer is limited to short guided tours outdoors for small groups (max. 10 people) in compliance with the safety and protective measures (e.g. wearing mouth-nose protection). Advance booking is required.

Thank you for your understanding.

Read more

Über das Museum

Das Südtiroler Landesmuseum für Volkskunde in Dietenheim ist Teil der Südtiroler Landesmuseen. Zum Leitbild der Südtiroler Landesmuseen
Zum Volkskundemuseum gehören sowohl Schloss Wolfsthurn – Südtiroler Landesmuseum für Jagd und Fischerei in Mareit als auch das Südtiroler Weinmuseum in Kaltern.


Geschichte & Museumskonzept

Das Volkskundemuseum wurde 1976 gegründet und 1980 eröffnet, damit ist es das älteste Landesmuseum Südtirols. Zwischen 1977 und 1993 wurden etwa zwei Dutzend alte Bauwerke auf eine gut drei Hektar große Wiese übertragen, 1985 konnte der barocke Ansitz Mair am Hof mit dem dazugehörigen Wirtschaftsgebäude in das bereits bestehende Museum integriert werden. Im Gegensatz zu den translozierten und zum Teil rekonstruierten Gebäuden im Freigelände handelt es sich beim Ansitz Mair am Hof um ein Freilichtobjekt in situ.
Das Südtiroler Landesmuseum für Volkskunde ist kein Freilicht- oder Höfemuseum im strengen Sinn. Der Gründer und langjährige Direktor des Volkskundemuseums Dr. Hans Grießmair hat von Beginn an eine sozialgeschichtliche Ausrichtung verfolgt, die auf die unterschiedlichen Lebens-, Wohn- und Wirtschaftsweisen von Landadel, Bauer, Kleinhäusler und ländlichem Handwerker eingeht.

Lesen Sie weiter, wenn Sie mehr Daten und Fakten über den Aufbau des Museums, die Dauerausstellung, die Sonderausstellung, die Forschungs- und Sammlungstätigkeit oder die Veröffentlichungen des Museums wissen möchten.

img_8111_pa_1.jpg foto_hmg_0360_p_1.jpg

Vorschau auf das Jahresprogramm

Zur Vorbeugung gegen die weitere Verbreitung des Coronavirus sind alle Veranstaltungen für das laufende Jahr abgesagt.
Das Vermittlungsangebot beschränkt sich bis auf Weiteres auf Kurzführungen im Freien für Kleingruppen (max. 10 Personen) unter Berücksichtigung der Sicherheits- und Schutzmaßnahmen (z.B. Mund-Nasen-Schutz). Es ist eine Vormerkung notwendig.

Wir bitten um Verständnis.

Weiterlesen